Who Is YaaA Universe?

YaaA Universe formerly known as Princess Menen is here focus, active and ready.  

Why the break and the name change? “I was dealing with life and its changes. Zionly Mother Empress Menen is a beautiful respectable woman,, who I admire and set out to follow but I  also wanted to embrace my real name, Yaa Asantewaa, which means Warrior Queen. I couldn’t be respectful where it wasn’t fitting. Musically I felt that carrying the name of my Zionly mother, I was restricted in what I could and couldn’t say.” She also expressed that it will give her access to other genres. In the past, producers would send reggae only once they heard the name Princess Menen. Now YaaA Universe can freely express herself without limitations. The only boundaries would be set by her as to topic choice and music genre.

YaaA obviously used a part of her first name which is Yaa Asantewaa but decided to use the first 3 A’s in her name since 2 A’s is more common. The emphasis on the 3rd A has no distinct sound. You pronounce her name Ya. It is strictly for visual distinction.

Currently YaaA has a new release titled, TURN. It’s a singjay fusion with an essence of reggae and pop. It’s a sound that’s not in the box because of the blend but a nice vibe nonetheless. The song is about life specifically when you try to help or guide others that don’t appreciate your efforts. What you learn from the experience is about of life’s lessons. Since she has a singjay style, which is like singing and deejaying which is similar to rapping, a lyric video was put together by One I Entertainment to follow along. The official video was by 1885 Films, with Executive Production by Khosmic NRG and One I Entertainment. The song wich is available in stores was mixed and engineered by Reblah Star, Production by Khosmic NRG and One I Omniverse.

You will eventually hear her on R&B, Afro Beats, Pop etc, Reggae will be in the mix at times, whether through the track or her delivery.  YaaA Universe just loves and respects the power of music so the message in it is very important to her. “It’s the way we communicate so I want to make sure that I extend myself to the universe through music”.

As YaaA Universe, she has released her 1st single in 2022, titled Personal Gain. That same year came Mind Control in which she was featured with Scepta, it was complimented with an official video. Both songs a Worldscann Family Productions. In 2023 is a song titled Give Thanks, production by Above Grung. For 2024, the first release is TURN, which is accompanied by lyric video and an official video. YaaA Universe Youtube Channel

To follow her social media portals, and support her in online stores, Visit YaaA Universe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.